Honorary Members

Honorary membership is awarded to a person who has made extraordinary contributions to the Teaching Academy or to faculty development at NMSU.

Inducted 2018

Sandra Lujan, Aggie Service Center
Sandra Lujan the Teaching Academy tirelessly for 20 years and still manages our budgets. She is our go-to person for all things finance. No one knows better than Sandra the mysterious inner workings of finance. Sandra is the ultimate team player and helps out in every way imaginable whether or not it is in her job description. For twenty years, Sandra kept the Teaching Academy running smoothly by operating the unseen gears. For Sandra, there is no bureaucratic mountain too high or red tape too long.

While at the Teaching Academy, Sandra earned two degrees, with the support of her two sons. She earned her Associates and Bachelors of Business Administration with minors in both Management and Marketing. Sandra was a Crimson Scholar and was awarded a stole from the Hispanic Faculty and Staff Caucus for her excellence in Academics and Leadership. She is currently a graduate student earning her Master’s in Business Administration.

Inducted 2017

Dr. Esther Devall, Family and Consumer Sciences
Dr. Esther Devall came to NMSU as a faculty member in 1991. Esther received the Roush Award for Teaching Excellence in 1997, and the College of ACES Distinguished Teaching Award in 2000. As a researcher, Esther brought in over $13 million in federal and state grants. She received the Distinguished Research Award from ACES in 2010. Since 2010, Esther has served as the department head of two departments: the academic and extension departments of Family and Consumer Sciences. During that time, she has also chaired the Department Head Academy, a program at the Teaching Academy that helps department heads lead and manage. As part of her legacy to NMSU, Esther has left a significant planned gift to the Teaching Academy. By doing so, Esther has helped ensure that the Academy is woven into the fabric that is NMSU.

Inducted 2016

Jean Conway, Teaching Academy
Jean Conway has worked quarter-time at the Teaching Academy this year, bringing her NMSU service to a quarter century. Jean has served NMSU since 1990, beginning in the Center for Educational Development (CED), continuing through the transition to the Teaching Academy. She served as interim director of the CED for seven years and as associate director of the Teaching Academy for 12 years.

Inducted 2014

Roberta L. (Bobbie) Derlin, Ph.D., Associate Provost
Roberta L. (Bobbie) Derlin, Ph.D. served NMSU as associate provost for system-wide accreditations, outcomes assessment, and academic planning. Associate Provost Derlin was responsible for accreditation, strategic planning, academic program review, and other outcomes assessment and continuous quality improvement initiatives. Bobbie has tirelessly served the Higher Learning Commission, NMSU’s accreditor, as a peer reviewer, financial panel reviewer, and visiting team chair. She also spearheaded NMSU’s most recent institutional accreditation effort and her report was featured as a model at the HLC conference.

Bobbie’s lifetime of dedication to effective university accreditation was recognized with her appointment to the National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity by the Secretary of Education, the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives. The committee advises the secretary of education on accreditation issues. It is charged with recommending to the secretary of education which accrediting agencies should be recognized as reliable authorities for judging the quality of postsecondary institutions and programs. Postsecondary schools must be approved by a recognized accrediting agency to be eligible to participate in federal programs. Students attending these schools receive some $150 billion in grants, loans and work-study opportunities.

Bobbie has been active professionally in other areas. She served as co-chair of the 1986 National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO) Annual Meeting in New York. Bobbie is also past president of the New Mexico Higher Education Assessment and Retention Association. She has served as chair of the executive committee of the Western Academic Leadership Forum, an organization of the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE). Bobbie has consistently shared her talents outside of academe by serving as president of the Tompkins Red Cross as well as secretary and then vice president of Tompkins County Planned Parenthood in Ithaca, New York. In Las Cruces, Dr. Derlin has served multiple terms as president of La Casa, our local domestic violence shelter. She has also been recognized by Rotary International as a Paul Harris Fellow.

Inducted 2010

Shelly Stovall, Ph.D., Director of Assessment
Shelly Stovall’s background is in music and education. She earned a bachelors’ degree in music, master’s degrees in music and in curriculum and instruction, and a Ph.D. in educational administration. She joined the teaching faculty in the Department of Music at NMSU in 1991, and it was her graduate studies that ignited her passion for student learning assessment. Shelly has served on and chaired several university assessment committees, has spoken locally and regionally on the subject, and has committed herself to improving student learning through advancing understanding and use of authentic assessment practices. In 2007 and 2008 she participated in the NMHEAA summer retreat as a team member, and led a team at the 2009 retreat. She will be taking another team this summer to work on general education outcomes assessment. Shelly served as director of assessment, has given three workshops on assessment at the Teaching Academy, and spearheaded the ChAMPION outcomes assessment program that began in the summer of 2010.

Inducted 2008

Tracy Sterling, Former Professor, Entomology, Plant Pathology & Weed Science, and PI of the NSF–ADVANCE Grant
Tracy Sterling was a Professor of Weed Physiology in the Department of Entomology, Plant Pathology and Weed Science. She was also Director and PI of the NSF–ADVANCE program where she helped to facilitate its institutionalization in the Teaching Academy. She was inducted into the Teaching Academy as an honorary member to recognize her extensive faculty development work, including programs for mentoring, leadership, promotion and tenure, and department head training. She was also PI of an NSF–PAID grant that disseminates the best practices developed in these programs to other New Mexico institutions of higher education and research. As a two-term Faculty Senator, she has worked to create a more transparent and flexible University P&T Policy, improve dual-career accommodations, and include college-track faculty representation.

Inducted 2007

Herbert and Joan Zuhl, Benefactors and Friends of the Teaching Academy

Inducted 2006

Pat Hynes, Director, New Mexico Space Grant Consortium
Judy McShannon, Former Associate Director, New Mexico Space Grant Consortium

Inducted 2005

Waded Cruzado-Salas, Former Dean of Arts & Sciences
Lisa Frehill, Former Principal Investigator, NSF ADVANCE
Pamela Hunt, Former Associate Director, NSF ADVANCE

Inducted 2004

William V. Flores, Former Provost
Jozi De Leon, Former Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
Carmen Gonzales, Former Vice President for Student Success